AgeShield ID Scanner vs VeriScan
| AgeShield | VeriScan | |
|---|---|---|
| Three devices | $41.58/mo | $175/mo |
| Fake ID check | Included:Core and Pro | Included:Every plan |
| Staff records | Included:Staff PIN | Partly:Windows only |
| UV and infrared | Not offered:No | Included:With its hardware |
| Mobile IDs | Partly:Not yet | Partly:iOS app |
Prices: three devices billed annually, AgeShield Core against VeriScan Premium, the first VeriScan plan that syncs several devices. Every row is sourced in the full table below.
Compare the cost for your venue
For 3 devices, AgeShield Core costs $1,601 less a year than VeriScan Premium.
AgeShield Core
$41.58/month
$499.00 a year · 3 devices included
VeriScan Premium
$175.00/month
$2,100 a year · priced per device
Feature by feature
Each VeriScan entry comes from IDScan.net's own pricing page, help center or App Store listing, with the plan it needs. Where IDScan.net doesn't say, the table says so. The last group is what AgeShield does not do, because that is often what settles the decision.
Tap a row for the detail and where it comes from.
- Included:
- Partly:
- Not offered:
- Not stated:
Fake ID detection
AgeShield ID Scanner
Checks the barcode on US and Canadian licenses and IDs for signs of forgery, in every scan mode. Included on both plans.
VeriScan
2D barcode security checks on every plan.
IDs it reads
AgeShield ID Scanner
IDs from all 50 states, plus Canadian and Mexican IDs
VeriScan
IDs from all 50 states, plus Canadian and Mexican IDs
AgeShield ID Scanner
Passports and passport cards
VeriScan
Passports and passport cards
AgeShield ID Scanner
Some licenses from outside North America
VeriScan
Some licenses from outside North America
AgeShield ID Scanner
US green cards
VeriScan
Green cards, read from the machine-readable zone
AgeShield ID Scanner
Not accepted
VeriScan
Cards with a machine-readable zone, or with specialty hardware
AgeShield ID Scanner
Staff can type the details in when a card won't scan. Age and expiry checks still run.
VeriScan
Manual entry on iOS, Android and Windows
At the door
AgeShield ID Scanner
Alerts on the scan result for failed checks, underage, expired, banned and re-entry, plus an at-capacity warning.
VeriScan
Alerts on the device, plus email and SMS alerts on Premium and up.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Warns when the same ID comes back within a window you set, from 1 minute to 24 hours.
VeriScan
Alerts when an ID is scanned again within a set time.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Live headcount that counts every admit, with an at-capacity warning. Included on both plans.
VeriScan
In and out tracking with capacity alerts.Premium and up
AgeShield ID Scanner
Staff take a photo of the guest as part of the scan.Pro
VeriScan
Capture a live photo of the visitor on the device.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Saves the portrait printed on the ID automatically.Pro
VeriScan
Needs a scanner that can take photos.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Saves an image of the whole card.Pro
VeriScan
Needs a scanner that can take photos. Cloud storage on Premium and up.
Guests and lists
AgeShield ID Scanner
Recognizes returning guests at the door and shows their visit count and history.
VeriScan
Each scan creates a visitor profile or adds a visit to one.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Up to 10 notes per guest, shown to staff on the scan result.
VeriScan
Notes and comments on visitor profiles.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Merge duplicate guests from suggestions, and undo it with Unmerge.
VeriScan
Merge profiles in the cloud portal.Premium and up
AgeShield ID Scanner
Banned, VIP and Regulars lists on every plan.
VeriScan
Banned, VIP and Trespassed lists on every plan.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Custom lists, including lists that block entry when scanned.Pro
VeriScan
Custom lists shared across the account.Premium and up
AgeShield ID Scanner
Tags on visits, for example an incident or a promotion.Pro
VeriScan
Tags on visits and visitor profiles.Premium and up
Records and privacy
AgeShield ID Scanner
Turn on staff sign-in and each scan records who made it, by personal PIN. Included on both plans.
VeriScan
Windows app only. IDScan.net says it is not available on iOS or Android.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Records who opened a guest's details or photos and when. Export the log as CSV, Excel or PDF.
VeriScan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
You set how many days guest details are kept, up to 2 years on Core or 5 years on Pro.
VeriScan
Fixed on Basic. Scheduled purge on Premium, custom length on Enterprise.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Pick which ID fields are stored and how age is recorded. State-aware defaults you can change.
VeriScan
Privacy settings profiles you apply per location.Enterprise and up
AgeShield ID Scanner
Guests see what is collected and tap I Agree before the scan. Pre-set on in five states, and you can change it.
VeriScan
Consent screen and agreements.Enterprise and up
What AgeShield does not do
AgeShield ID Scanner
The forgery check reads the card itself. AgeShield does not query DMV records.
VeriScan
A paid add-on checks age against the DMV database.Premium and up
AgeShield ID Scanner
Phone camera only. No ultraviolet or infrared reader.
VeriScan
Ultraviolet, infrared, hologram and watermark checks, using IDScan.net's reader and the Windows app.ID Authentication, $155/device
AgeShield ID Scanner
Not accepted yet. Support for mobile IDs is coming soon.
VeriScan
VeriScan for iOS reads mobile IDs, including ID in Apple Wallet.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Not accepted, by choice. Federal law restricts scanning and copying US military IDs. Learn why
VeriScan
Military IDs
AgeShield ID Scanner
No POS or payment connections
VeriScan
Named integrations with cannabis POS systems, plus webhooks on Enterprise and up.
AgeShield ID Scanner
No ticketing, table or guest marketing tools
VeriScan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
No API or webhooks
VeriScan
Webhooks for your other systems.Enterprise and up
Reports and setup
AgeShield ID Scanner
Scans, decisions, busiest hours, age, gender, top states and ZIP codes, on the phone at the door as well as in the hub.
VeriScan
Busiest days and times, age and sex, top cities, traffic by tag, in the VeriScan Cloud portal.Premium and up
AgeShield ID Scanner
Nothing to buy. Runs on iPhone and on Android phones and tablets.
VeriScan
Phone apps. Photo capture and UV or infrared checks need IDScan.net hardware.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Sign in each phone by scanning a QR code from the hub.
VeriScan
Not stated
| Feature | AgeShield ID ScannerPer venue, from $41.58/month for three devices | VeriScanPer device, from $35/month |
|---|---|---|
| Fake ID detection | ||
| Fake ID check | Included: Checks the barcode on US and Canadian licenses and IDs for signs of forgery, in every scan mode. Included on both plans. | Included: 2D barcode security checks on every plan. |
| IDs it reads | ||
| US driver's licenses and state IDs | Included: IDs from all 50 states, plus Canadian and Mexican IDs | Included: IDs from all 50 states, plus Canadian and Mexican IDs |
| Passports | Included: Passports and passport cards | Included: Passports and passport cards |
| Driver's licenses from other countries | Partly: Some licenses from outside North America | Partly: Some licenses from outside North America |
| US green cards | Included: US green cards | Included: Green cards, read from the machine-readable zone |
| National ID cards from other countries | Not offered: Not accepted | Partly: Cards with a machine-readable zone, or with specialty hardware |
| Manual entry | Included: Staff can type the details in when a card won't scan. Age and expiry checks still run. | Included: Manual entry on iOS, Android and Windows |
| At the door | ||
| Alerts | Included: Alerts on the scan result for failed checks, underage, expired, banned and re-entry, plus an at-capacity warning. | Included: Alerts on the device, plus email and SMS alerts on Premium and up. |
| Re-entry and passback detection | Included: Warns when the same ID comes back within a window you set, from 1 minute to 24 hours. | Included: Alerts when an ID is scanned again within a set time. |
| Capacity tracking | Included: Live headcount that counts every admit, with an at-capacity warning. Included on both plans. | Included: In and out tracking with capacity alerts.Premium and up |
| Live guest photo | Included: Staff take a photo of the guest as part of the scan.Pro | Included: Capture a live photo of the visitor on the device. |
| ID portrait capture | Included: Saves the portrait printed on the ID automatically.Pro | Partly: Needs a scanner that can take photos. |
| Full ID image capture | Included: Saves an image of the whole card.Pro | Partly: Needs a scanner that can take photos. Cloud storage on Premium and up. |
| Guests and lists | ||
| Guest profiles and visit history | Included: Recognizes returning guests at the door and shows their visit count and history. | Included: Each scan creates a visitor profile or adds a visit to one. |
| Guest notes | Included: Up to 10 notes per guest, shown to staff on the scan result. | Included: Notes and comments on visitor profiles. |
| Merge duplicate guests | Included: Merge duplicate guests from suggestions, and undo it with Unmerge. | Included: Merge profiles in the cloud portal.Premium and up |
| Banned and VIP lists | Included: Banned, VIP and Regulars lists on every plan. | Included: Banned, VIP and Trespassed lists on every plan. |
| Custom groups | Included: Custom lists, including lists that block entry when scanned.Pro | Included: Custom lists shared across the account.Premium and up |
| Visit tags | Included: Tags on visits, for example an incident or a promotion.Pro | Included: Tags on visits and visitor profiles.Premium and up |
| Records and privacy | ||
| Staff-level records | Included: Turn on staff sign-in and each scan records who made it, by personal PIN. Included on both plans. | Partly: Windows app only. IDScan.net says it is not available on iOS or Android. |
| Log of who viewed guest data | Included: Records who opened a guest's details or photos and when. Export the log as CSV, Excel or PDF. | Not stated: Not stated |
| Data retention setting | Included: You set how many days guest details are kept, up to 2 years on Core or 5 years on Pro. | Partly: Fixed on Basic. Scheduled purge on Premium, custom length on Enterprise. |
| Privacy controls for state laws | Included: Pick which ID fields are stored and how age is recorded. State-aware defaults you can change. | Included: Privacy settings profiles you apply per location.Enterprise and up |
| Guest consent screen | Included: Guests see what is collected and tap I Agree before the scan. Pre-set on in five states, and you can change it. | Included: Consent screen and agreements.Enterprise and up |
| What AgeShield does not do | ||
| Check against DMV records | Not offered: The forgery check reads the card itself. AgeShield does not query DMV records. | Included: A paid add-on checks age against the DMV database.Premium and up |
| Ultraviolet and infrared checks | Not offered: Phone camera only. No ultraviolet or infrared reader. | Included: Ultraviolet, infrared, hologram and watermark checks, using IDScan.net's reader and the Windows app.ID Authentication, $155/device |
| Mobile IDs in a phone wallet | Partly: Not accepted yet. Support for mobile IDs is coming soon. | Partly: VeriScan for iOS reads mobile IDs, including ID in Apple Wallet. |
| US military IDs | Not offered: Not accepted, by choice. Federal law restricts scanning and copying US military IDs. Learn why | Included: Military IDs |
| POS and payments | Not offered: No POS or payment connections | Included: Named integrations with cannabis POS systems, plus webhooks on Enterprise and up. |
| Ticketing, tables and guest marketing | Not offered: No ticketing, table or guest marketing tools | Not stated: Not stated |
| API or webhooks | Not offered: No API or webhooks | Included: Webhooks for your other systems.Enterprise and up |
| Reports and setup | ||
| Analytics | Included: Scans, decisions, busiest hours, age, gender, top states and ZIP codes, on the phone at the door as well as in the hub. | Included: Busiest days and times, age and sex, top cities, traffic by tag, in the VeriScan Cloud portal.Premium and up |
| Hardware | Included: Nothing to buy. Runs on iPhone and on Android phones and tablets. | Included: Phone apps. Photo capture and UV or infrared checks need IDScan.net hardware. |
| Setting up a phone | Included: Sign in each phone by scanning a QR code from the hub. | Not stated: Not stated |
Information accurate as of September 15, 2026. VeriScan is a trademark of its owner. AgeShield is an independent company and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by IDScan.net.
Where AgeShield stops
AgeShield does one job: check IDs at the door and keep the record. It has no reader hardware, no DMV lookup, no POS connection and no API to wire into other systems. IDScan.net sells all of those, along with products for hospitals, cannabis dispensaries and government offices.
One of those gaps is deliberate. We do not accept US military IDs, because federal law restricts scanning and copying them and the published exceptions do not cover a venue door. Why we will not scan a military ID
If your door needs any of them, buy VeriScan. If you run a bar, a club or a restaurant and want the door covered on the phones and tablets your staff already carry, the narrower scope is the point. There is less to buy, less to set up and less to go wrong on a Friday night.
Where they differ
The two that change the decision most are the pricing model and the kind of fake ID check each product runs.
Pricing: per venue or per device
IDScan.net prices every VeriScan plan per device, so a venue with three phones pays the plan price three times. On Premium, the first plan with device sync and custom lists, that comes to $2,100/year. AgeShield prices each venue, and every plan covers three devices scanning at once, so Core is $499/year for the same three and a fourth device adds $13.86/month on annual billing. Full details are on AgeShield pricing.
What the fake ID check looks at
AgeShield checks the barcode on US and Canadian licenses and state IDs for signs of forgery in every scan mode, and Secure mode also checks that the front of the card matches the back. VeriScan runs its own 2D barcode security checks and detects void marks such as hole punches or stickers. It also offers checks AgeShield does not have: ultraviolet, infrared, hologram and watermark checks on the ID Authentication plan with IDScan.net's hardware, and add-on third party checks against the state DMV record. An AgeShield flag describes what the scan observed and does not prove an ID is fake. How AgeShield checks IDs.
Lists and sharing
Every AgeShield plan has built-in Banned and VIP lists that each phone at the venue checks during a scan. Pro adds custom groups, and an owner with several venues can share one Ban List across all of them. On VeriScan, custom lists and syncing devices to its cloud portal start at Premium.
Data and privacy controls
In AgeShield the venue decides what personal data a scan keeps and for how long. A new venue keeps it for 30 days, and the owner can raise that to as long as 2 years on Core or 5 years on Pro. The hub logs who opened a guest's details or photos, every plan can export that log, and Pro can store a guest photo with each scan. VeriScan's retention cannot be changed on Basic. Premium adds a scheduled purge, and Enterprise adds custom lengths and privacy settings profiles per location.
Which one fits your venue
Choose VeriScan if
- You want checks beyond the barcode. The ID Authentication plan adds ultraviolet, infrared, hologram and watermark checks with IDScan.net's hardware, and add-on checks can verify an ID against the state DMV record.
- Guests at your door already show mobile IDs. VeriScan for iOS reads them, including ID in Apple Wallet. AgeShield does not accept them yet, and support is coming soon. VeriScan also lists military IDs, which AgeShield deliberately does not accept: federal law restricts scanning and copying US military IDs.
- You need more than a door check. Enterprise adds agreements and waivers, badge printing and custom fields. IDScan.net also serves many industries beyond hospitality.
- You want to start small. Basic costs $380/year for one device, less than AgeShield Core, and the 30-day trial needs no credit card.
Choose AgeShield if
- You want several phones scanning without paying for each one. Every plan covers three at once, from $499/year on Core.
- You want Banned, VIP and Regulars lists on the base plan, and the option to share one Ban List across your venues.
- You want to set how long guest personal data is kept on every plan, and a log of who opened guest details. A new venue keeps data for 30 days, and you can raise that to 2 years on Core or 5 years on Pro.
- You would rather not buy hardware. AgeShield runs on the iPhones, iPads and Android devices your staff already carry.
Questions about VeriScan and AgeShield
How much does VeriScan cost?
IDScan.net prices VeriScan per device. Basic is $35/month or $380/year, Premium is $65/month or $700/year and Enterprise is $125/month or $1,350/year, each per device. A higher ID Authentication plan adds hardware checks. Three devices on Premium come to $2,100/year. Prices were checked on September 15, 2026.
Is there a VeriScan alternative that covers several devices?
AgeShield prices per venue, and every plan includes three devices scanning at once. Core is $499/year ($41.58/month) or $49/month, and Pro is $699/year or $69/month. More devices cost $13.86/month each on annual Core or $16.33/month on monthly Core.
Does AgeShield check for fake IDs like VeriScan?
AgeShield checks the barcode on US and Canadian licenses and state IDs for signs of forgery in every scan mode, and Secure mode also checks that the front matches the back. It does not do the ultraviolet, infrared, hologram or DMV record checks that VeriScan offers on its ID Authentication plan or as add-ons. A flag describes what the scan observed and is not proof that an ID is fake.
Does AgeShield work offline?
Yes, on iPhone and Android, including the fake ID check. The phone works out the result on its own and syncs visits when it reconnects, and it warns staff when its ban list has not synced for 30 minutes.
What happens when the trial ends?
On day 14 you move to Core Monthly at $49 per month plus applicable sales tax, unless you pick Pro or cancel first. We remind you on days 7, 11 and 13.
Sources
- VeriScan pricing on idscan.net
- VeriScan mobile scanning on idscan.net
- VeriScan - ID Scanner on the App Store
Information accurate as of September 15, 2026. Features and prices change, so check the vendor's site before you decide.
VeriScan is a trademark of its owner. AgeShield is an independent company and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by IDScan.net.
Prices exclude sales tax.
Try AgeShield at your door
The trial runs 14 days with every Pro feature on and three phones scanning at once.
Start your 14-day free trial


