ID scanner app or a dedicated handheld scanner
| AgeShield | Handheld | |
|---|---|---|
| 1 checking point, 3 years | $1,497 | $795 |
| 3 checking points, 3 years | $1,497 | $2,385 |
| Fake ID check | Included:Core and Pro | Partly:Varies by product |
| Battery for a shift | Partly:Phone's battery | Included:8 to 12+ hours |
| One list, every station | Included:Included | Partly:Extra subscription |
Prices: AgeShield Core billed annually, 3 devices included, against the IDVisor Smart Plus at $795 each as TokenWorks lists it, before add-ons. Every row is sourced in the full table below.
Three years, counted honestly
A subscription looks worse on a three-year spreadsheet than it does on a purchase order, and a purchase looks worse the moment you need a second one. Here is the same three years both ways, with AgeShield on Core billed annually at $499 a year and the hardware column priced from the IDVisor Smart Plus.
1 checking point
Handhelds with lists, cradle, detection and warranty$1,660Scanners alone $795 · with lists, passback and a cradle $960
AgeShield Core, 3 years$1,4972 checking points
Handhelds with lists, cradle, detection and warranty$3,320Scanners alone $1,590 · with lists, passback and a cradle $1,920
AgeShield Core, 3 years$1,4973 checking points
Handhelds with lists, cradle, detection and warranty$4,980Scanners alone $2,385 · with lists, passback and a cradle $2,880
AgeShield Core, 3 years$1,497
Hardware: $795 per IDVisor Smart Plus, and $960 per station once VIP and banned lists ($50), anti-passback ($50) and a charging cradle ($65) are added, all as listed by TokenWorks. The grey bar adds the warranty extension to three years ($100) and fake ID detection at $200 a year per device for 3 years, as TokenWorks lists it on the IDVisor Smart V3, assuming it renews at that price. It excludes IDVisor Sync, the cloud subscription that lets several scanners share one database and one banned list, because TokenWorks does not publish a price for it. AgeShield: Core billed annually, covering 3 devices scanning at once. Prices exclude sales tax.
| Checking points | Scanners alone | With lists, passback and a cradle | Plus fake ID detection and a 3-year warranty | AgeShield Core, 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 checking point | $795 | $960 | $1,660 | $1,497 |
| 2 checking points | $1,590 | $1,920 | $3,320 | $1,497 |
| 3 checking points | $2,385 | $2,880 | $4,980 | $1,497 |
What the table does not show
Year four. From there the handhelds cost nothing further, as long as they still work and the vendor keeps issuing format updates, while Core carries on at $499 a year. If your venue has exactly one checking point, that is the whole argument and the hardware wins it. The case for an app is not that a subscription is cheaper forever. It is that the second and third checking point are already paid for.
Full plan prices, including Pro and extra device slots, are on AgeShield pricing.
Feature by feature
The right-hand column is a category rather than a single product, so every entry names the scanner it was read from and links to that vendor's own page. Where a vendor does not publish something, the table says so instead of guessing.
Tap a row for the detail and where it comes from.
- Included:
- Partly:
- Not offered:
- Not stated:
What you pay
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Nothing to buy. The app installs on the iPhone and Android phones your staff already carry, or on phones you supply.
Dedicated ID scanner
A purchase per station. TokenWorks lists the IDVisor Smart Plus at $795, down from $995, and the Smart V2 at $745.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Three devices scanning at once on every plan, Core and Pro alike. Extra device slots are sold per venue.
Dedicated ID scanner
One device. A second checking point is a second purchase at the same price.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
A subscription. It runs for as long as you use it, and it does not stop.
Dedicated ID scanner
No subscription is needed for age verification. On the IDVisor Smart V3, fake ID detection is a $200 subscription per year and mobile ID is $120 for two years, both per device. IDVisor Sync, which links scanners, is quoted on request.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Banned, VIP and Regulars lists are on both plans. Re-entry warnings and capacity are too.
Dedicated ID scanner
On the IDVisor pages, VIP and banned lists, anti-passback and photo capture are $50 each, per device, and a charging cradle is $65.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
No hardware of ours to warrant. A phone that breaks is replaced by you, and the plan is unaffected.
Dedicated ID scanner
One year included, and $100 buys two more. Minor Decliner says its one-year cover includes hardware and software and excludes physical damage.
Getting through a shift
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Runs on the phone's battery, next to everything else that phone is doing. A long shift needs a charger behind the bar.
Dedicated ID scanner
TokenWorks lists a 4700mAh battery, 12 hours or more of continuous use, and sells a spare battery for $65. Minor Decliner says 8 to 10 hours covers a shift.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
As rugged as the case on the phone. We do not sell one.
Dedicated ID scanner
TokenWorks rates the Smart Plus IP67 and states a 1.2 m drop height and 1000 half-meter tumbles.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Sign a replacement phone in by scanning a QR code from the hub. The venue's records are already in the hub, not on the phone.
Dedicated ID scanner
A repair, or a spare unit. One barcode scanner repair service publishes repairs from $99, battery replacement from $143 and a 48 hour turnaround.
Staying current
AgeShield ID Scanner app
The app updates from the App Store and Google Play, and new card formats arrive with it.
Dedicated ID scanner
TokenWorks says software updates are free for life, arrive over WiFi and cover new driver's license formats.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Not accepted yet. Support for mobile IDs is coming soon. It will arrive as an app update, with no new hardware to buy, and it will be included in your subscription.
Dedicated ID scanner
Sold separately. TokenWorks lists mobile ID as $120 for two years of coverage, and Minor Decliner lists its portable at $789, or $1,089 with mobile driver's license reading for a year.
What it checks
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Checks the barcode on US and Canadian licenses and IDs for signs of forgery, in every scan mode, on both plans. A flag describes what the scan observed and is not proof an ID is fake.
Dedicated ID scanner
Varies by product. TokenWorks includes a basic barcode check and sells fuller fake ID detection on the IDVisor Smart V3 as a $200 yearly subscription per device. Minor Decliner sells the Intellicheck fake check as credits you buy in packages.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
The forgery check runs on the phone, so it keeps working when the signal drops. Visits sync when the phone reconnects.
Dedicated ID scanner
Minor Decliner says the Intellicheck fake check needs a WiFi connection. Age and expiry checks are described as unlimited and fee-free.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Phone camera only. No ultraviolet or infrared inspection.
Dedicated ID scanner
Not on these handhelds, which read the barcode. Ultraviolet inspection is a separate reader or lamp that shows security features printed in invisible ink.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Reads the printed passport page. Reading the chip is coming soon.
Dedicated ID scanner
Not stated
The record it keeps
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Every device at the venue writes to one record in the hub. Nothing important lives only on a phone.
Dedicated ID scanner
On the device. TokenWorks says an IDVisor Smart stores over 75,000 scans locally.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Every phone at the venue checks the same Banned and VIP lists during a scan, at no extra cost.
Dedicated ID scanner
A separate cloud subscription. TokenWorks sells IDVisor Sync so several scanners share one database, lists and real-time passback alerts. It does not publish a price.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Turn on staff sign-in and each scan records who made it, by personal PIN.
Dedicated ID scanner
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Records who opened a guest's details or photos and when, and exports as CSV, Excel or PDF.
Dedicated ID scanner
Harder to manage. Scans are stored on each unit, so there is no single place to see who looked at them.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
You set how many days guest details are kept, up to 2 years on Core or 5 years on Pro.
Dedicated ID scanner
Depends on the vendor and the model. The bigger risk is a scanner that keeps no usable record of its checks, so there is nothing to show after an incident.
Fitting it to the room
AgeShield ID Scanner app
A door, a bar and a server station are three of the three devices you already have.
Dedicated ID scanner
Each station is another unit bought at full price, plus its own add-ons and its own warranty.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
Runs on staff phones and tablets, or on devices the venue supplies.
Dedicated ID scanner
Venue owned. No staff phone is involved in the check at all.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
A phone does everything else a phone does, including the things you would rather it did not during a shift.
Dedicated ID scanner
The device checks IDs and does nothing else. TokenWorks describes it as a purpose-built age verification scanner.
AgeShield ID Scanner app
There is no mains-powered AgeShield station. Every device is a phone or a tablet.
Dedicated ID scanner
A countertop option exists. The E-Seek M280 is a USB powered flatbed and barcode reader with no battery, though it needs a computer and separate software.
| Feature | AgeShield ID Scanner appPer venue, from $41.58 a month for 3 devices | Dedicated ID scannerPer device, from $795 one time |
|---|---|---|
| What you pay | ||
| Cost to start | Included: Nothing to buy. The app installs on the iPhone and Android phones your staff already carry, or on phones you supply. | Not offered: A purchase per station. TokenWorks lists the IDVisor Smart Plus at $795, down from $995, and the Smart V2 at $745. |
| Devices covered | Included: Three devices scanning at once on every plan, Core and Pro alike. Extra device slots are sold per venue. | Not offered: One device. A second checking point is a second purchase at the same price. |
| Recurring cost | Not offered: A subscription. It runs for as long as you use it, and it does not stop. | Partly: No subscription is needed for age verification. On the IDVisor Smart V3, fake ID detection is a $200 subscription per year and mobile ID is $120 for two years, both per device. IDVisor Sync, which links scanners, is quoted on request. |
| Lists and door features | Included: Banned, VIP and Regulars lists are on both plans. Re-entry warnings and capacity are too. | Partly: On the IDVisor pages, VIP and banned lists, anti-passback and photo capture are $50 each, per device, and a charging cradle is $65. |
| Warranty | Included: No hardware of ours to warrant. A phone that breaks is replaced by you, and the plan is unaffected. | Partly: One year included, and $100 buys two more. Minor Decliner says its one-year cover includes hardware and software and excludes physical damage. |
| Getting through a shift | ||
| Battery | Partly: Runs on the phone's battery, next to everything else that phone is doing. A long shift needs a charger behind the bar. | Included: TokenWorks lists a 4700mAh battery, 12 hours or more of continuous use, and sells a spare battery for $65. Minor Decliner says 8 to 10 hours covers a shift. |
| Drops and spills | Partly: As rugged as the case on the phone. We do not sell one. | Included: TokenWorks rates the Smart Plus IP67 and states a 1.2 m drop height and 1000 half-meter tumbles. |
| When a device breaks | Included: Sign a replacement phone in by scanning a QR code from the hub. The venue's records are already in the hub, not on the phone. | Partly: A repair, or a spare unit. One barcode scanner repair service publishes repairs from $99, battery replacement from $143 and a 48 hour turnaround. |
| Staying current | ||
| Software and new card formats | Included: The app updates from the App Store and Google Play, and new card formats arrive with it. | Included: TokenWorks says software updates are free for life, arrive over WiFi and cover new driver's license formats. |
| Mobile IDs | Partly: Not accepted yet. Support for mobile IDs is coming soon. It will arrive as an app update, with no new hardware to buy, and it will be included in your subscription. | Partly: Sold separately. TokenWorks lists mobile ID as $120 for two years of coverage, and Minor Decliner lists its portable at $789, or $1,089 with mobile driver's license reading for a year. |
| What it checks | ||
| Fake ID check | Included: Checks the barcode on US and Canadian licenses and IDs for signs of forgery, in every scan mode, on both plans. A flag describes what the scan observed and is not proof an ID is fake. | Partly: Varies by product. TokenWorks includes a basic barcode check and sells fuller fake ID detection on the IDVisor Smart V3 as a $200 yearly subscription per device. Minor Decliner sells the Intellicheck fake check as credits you buy in packages. |
| Works without internet | Included: The forgery check runs on the phone, so it keeps working when the signal drops. Visits sync when the phone reconnects. | Partly: Minor Decliner says the Intellicheck fake check needs a WiFi connection. Age and expiry checks are described as unlimited and fee-free. |
| Ultraviolet and infrared inspection | Not offered: Phone camera only. No ultraviolet or infrared inspection. | Partly: Not on these handhelds, which read the barcode. Ultraviolet inspection is a separate reader or lamp that shows security features printed in invisible ink. |
| Passport chip | Partly: Reads the printed passport page. Reading the chip is coming soon. | Not stated: Not stated |
| The record it keeps | ||
| Where the record lives | Included: Every device at the venue writes to one record in the hub. Nothing important lives only on a phone. | Partly: On the device. TokenWorks says an IDVisor Smart stores over 75,000 scans locally. |
| One banned list across stations | Included: Every phone at the venue checks the same Banned and VIP lists during a scan, at no extra cost. | Partly: A separate cloud subscription. TokenWorks sells IDVisor Sync so several scanners share one database, lists and real-time passback alerts. It does not publish a price. |
| Which staff member scanned | Included: Turn on staff sign-in and each scan records who made it, by personal PIN. | Not stated: Not stated |
| Log of who viewed guest data | Included: Records who opened a guest's details or photos and when, and exports as CSV, Excel or PDF. | Partly: Harder to manage. Scans are stored on each unit, so there is no single place to see who looked at them. |
| Retention you control | Included: You set how many days guest details are kept, up to 2 years on Core or 5 years on Pro. | Partly: Depends on the vendor and the model. The bigger risk is a scanner that keeps no usable record of its checks, so there is nothing to show after an incident. |
| Fitting it to the room | ||
| Adding a second and third station | Included: A door, a bar and a server station are three of the three devices you already have. | Not offered: Each station is another unit bought at full price, plus its own add-ons and its own warranty. |
| Staff phones | Included: Runs on staff phones and tablets, or on devices the venue supplies. | Included: Venue owned. No staff phone is involved in the check at all. |
| A device that does one job | Not offered: A phone does everything else a phone does, including the things you would rather it did not during a shift. | Included: The device checks IDs and does nothing else. TokenWorks describes it as a purpose-built age verification scanner. |
| A fixed station with no battery | Not offered: There is no mains-powered AgeShield station. Every device is a phone or a tablet. | Included: A countertop option exists. The E-Seek M280 is a USB powered flatbed and barcode reader with no battery, though it needs a computer and separate software. |
Information accurate as of September 15, 2026. Hardware prices were read from each vendor's own page on September 16, 2026. TokenWorks, IDVisor, Minor Decliner, Intellicheck, E-Seek, Thales, Honeywell and IDScan.net are trademarks of their owners. AgeShield is an independent company and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them.
What owning the hardware involves
None of this makes a scanner a poor purchase. It is the part of the purchase that does not appear on the price tag, and it is worth knowing before you sign for three of them.
Repairs land on you
The hardware is yours, so a failure is a repair order. One barcode scanner repair service publishes repairs from $99, battery replacement from $143 and a 48 hour turnaround. A handheld away for two days is a checking point that is not checking, unless you bought a spare. Minor Decliner says its one-year cover includes hardware and software and excludes physical damage, which is the category most door hardware fails in.
The extras are priced per device
On the IDVisor pages, VIP and banned lists are $50, anti-passback is $50, photo capture is $50 and a charging cradle is $65. Each of those is per device, so a third station buys them a third time. Two more years of warranty are $100 per device on top.
Not every recurring cost is a subscription
TokenWorks says there are no contract, set-up or monthly fees, and that software updates are free for life over WiFi, including new driver's license formats. That is a real advantage and we are not going to pretend otherwise. What is easy to miss is what sits outside that promise: mobile ID reading is listed at $120 for two years of coverage, Minor Decliner lists its portable at $789 or $1,089 with mobile driver's license reading for a year, and Minor Decliner sells the Intellicheck fake ID check as credits you buy in packages rather than including it.
A device outlives its sled, not the other way round
Hardware that clips to a phone inherits the phone's lifecycle. The Honeywell Captuvo SL42 sled was built for particular iPhone generations and resellers now list its variants as discontinued. A card reader bolted to a specific handset is a purchase with an end date written into it by someone else.
Some rules name more than one moment
Venues often picture the ID check as a thing that happens at the door. Some published rules describe it differently, and name the moment of service as well. We are quoting what these texts say. We are not telling you what applies to your venue, what it requires of you or how to comply with it. That is a question for your own counsel.
Massachusetts, cannabis retail
935 CMR 500.140(2)
The rule names two separate moments. Subsection (2)(a) reads, “On entry into the Premises of a Marijuana Retailer by an individual, a Marijuana Establishment Agent shall immediately inspect the individual’s proof of identification and determine the individual’s age.” Subsection (2)(b) reads, “On point-of-sale by an individual, a Marijuana Establishment Agent shall inspect the individual’s proof of identification and determine the individual’s age.”
Utah, alcohol
Utah Code 32B-1-407
For an individual who appears to be 35 years of age or younger, the section names the moment an individual gains admittance to the premises of a bar licensee or tavern, the moment an individual procures an alcoholic product on the premises of a dining club licensee, and the moment an individual procures an alcoholic product in a dispensing area of a full-service, limited-service or beer-only restaurant licensee. It calls for the proof of age to be verified electronically, and says information obtained is retained for seven days after the day it is obtained.
Utah, what the device has to do
Utah Admin. Code R82-4-101
The rule says an electronic age verification device shall contain magnetic stripe card reader technology, two-dimensional stack symbology card reader technology, or an alternate technology capable of electronically verifying the proof of age, and that data shall be retained for seven days from the date it was acquired, after which it must be deleted.
Read one way, a rule that names entry and the point of sale describes two places where somebody has to be holding something. What that costs is a pricing question, and it is the pricing question this page is about. Our own summaries of state rules live on ID scanning laws by state, and they are summaries, not legal advice.
Which one fits your venue
Hardware is the right answer for some venues and AgeShield for others.
Buy the hardware if
You check IDs at one point and expect to keep it that way
One IDVisor Smart Plus at $795 costs less than 2 years of Core at $499 a year. If you do not need fake ID detection, which TokenWorks sells as a $200 yearly subscription per device, a single door that stays a single door is cheaper on hardware.
You want ultraviolet and infrared inspection
A phone camera cannot do it, and neither can a barcode handheld. Ultraviolet inspection shows security features printed in ink that is invisible in ordinary light, and that needs a light source and a sensor built for it. A reseller lists the Thales CR5400, a reader that does ultraviolet, infrared and white light scanning of both sides of a card, at $899, plus the software to drive it. See the CR5400 listing
You want a fixed station with no battery in it
A countertop reader draws power over USB and never needs charging. The E-Seek M280 reads the magnetic stripe and the barcode and captures an image of the card, and a reseller lists it at $685. It needs a computer at the counter and separate software, so it is a station rather than a device you carry. See the M280 listing
You want a device that does one job and nothing else
A scanner cannot take a call, open a message or wander off into a social app in the middle of a queue. Staff hand it back at the end of the shift and it sits in its cradle. A phone running our app is still a phone.
Choose AgeShield if
You want more than one checking point
Three devices are included on every plan, so a door, a bar and a server station cost $499 a year between them rather than three purchases.
You want one banned list at every station
Every device checks the same Banned list during a scan, without a second subscription to make the devices talk to each other.
You want to know who scanned and who looked
With staff sign-in on, each scan records the staff member who made it, and the audit log records who opened a guest's details afterwards.
You want the record to survive the device
A phone that is dropped, lost or replaced costs you a phone, not the venue's history. Sign a new one in with a QR code from the hub.
You want fake ID detection without a yearly add-on
The fake ID check is part of every plan and every scan mode, on every device, with nothing extra to renew.
You would rather try it before spending anything
The trial runs 14 days with every Pro feature on and three devices scanning at once.
The third station is the whole argument
A door, a bar and a server station are three checking points. On hardware that is three purchases: $2,385 for the units, or $2,880 once each one has lists, anti-passback and a cradle, and then a cloud subscription on top if you want the three to share a single banned list. On AgeShield those three devices are $499 a year between them, with the same lists, the same guest history and one record that all three write to.
It is also the difference that survives a busy Friday. When a phone at the bar goes flat, a manager signs another one in by scanning a QR code from the hub and the checking point is back, because the venue's record was never on that phone. When a handheld goes back to the manufacturer, the station it covered has nothing, unless a spare was bought at the same time as the first three.
Three devices are included on Core and on Pro. We count devices too, which is worth saying plainly: a fourth device slot is an added cost. We just start you at 3 rather than at one. See what each plan includes.
Questions about scanner hardware
How much does a handheld ID scanner cost?
TokenWorks lists the IDVisor Smart Plus at $795, down from $995, and the IDVisor Smart V2 at $745. Minor Decliner lists a portable scanner from $789, a countertop unit at $669 and a wall or stand mounted unit at $1,250. Those are one-time hardware prices per device. Add-ons such as VIP and banned lists, anti-passback, photo capture and a charging cradle are priced separately on each device. Prices were read from each vendor's own page on September 16, 2026.
Is a handheld ID scanner cheaper than an ID scanner app?
At one checking point, usually yes. One IDVisor Smart Plus at $795 costs less than two years of AgeShield Core at $499 a year, and from year three the hardware costs nothing further while the subscription continues. At three checking points it inverts: three units come to $2,385, or $2,880 once each has lists, anti-passback and a cradle, against $1,497 for three years of Core covering all three devices.
Do handheld ID scanners need a subscription?
TokenWorks says its IDVisor handhelds have no contract, set-up or monthly fees, and that software updates are free for life over WiFi. Some things sit outside that. TokenWorks sells mobile ID reading as two years of coverage, Minor Decliner prices mobile driver's license reading as a yearly addition to the device price, Minor Decliner sells the Intellicheck fake ID check as credits, and TokenWorks sells IDVisor Sync as a cloud subscription so that several scanners can share one database and one banned list. TokenWorks does not publish an IDVisor Sync price.
Can an app do the ultraviolet and infrared checks a reader does?
No. AgeShield checks the barcode on US and Canadian licenses and IDs for signs of forgery, and Secure mode also checks that the front of the card matches the back, but a phone camera cannot see ultraviolet or infrared security features. That needs a reader with the right light source and sensor. If those checks matter at your door, buy the reader.
How many devices does AgeShield cover?
Every AgeShield plan covers 3 devices scanning at once for one venue price, Core and Pro alike, so a door, a bar and a server station are covered by one plan. Extra device slots are available per venue if you need a fourth.
What happens when the trial ends?
On day 14 you move to Core Monthly at $49 per month plus applicable sales tax, unless you pick Pro or cancel first. We remind you on days 7, 11 and 13.
Sources
- IDVisor Smart Plus on idscanner.com (TokenWorks)
- IDVisor Smart V2 on idscanner.com (TokenWorks)
- IDVisor Smart V3 on idscanner.com (TokenWorks)
- IDVisor Sync cloud networking subscription on idscanner.com
- IDVisor product addendum on idscanner.com: subscriptions are licensed per device
- IDVisor Smart tutorial in the TokenWorks support knowledge base
- Bar and nightclub scanner buying guide on idscanner.com
- Portable mobile ID and passport scanner on minordecliner.com
- All products and prices on minordecliner.com
- How the Intellicheck fake ID check is sold, on minordecliner.com
- E-Seek M280 countertop reader on e-seek.com
- FraudFighter UV-16P ultraviolet inspection lamp on fraudfighter.com
- Barcode scanner repair price list on redbarcodeplanet.com
- Honeywell Captuvo SL42 iPhone sled listing on barcodediscount.com
- Thales CR5400 ultraviolet and infrared reader listing on idscan.net
- E-Seek M280 listing on idscan.net
- 935 CMR 500.140(2)
- Utah Code 32B-1-407
- Utah Admin. Code R82-4-101
Information accurate as of September 15, 2026. Hardware prices and specifications were read from each vendor's own page on September 16, 2026. Hardware is discounted and revised often, so check the vendor's site before you decide.
TokenWorks, IDVisor, Minor Decliner, Intellicheck, E-Seek, Thales, Honeywell and IDScan.net are trademarks of their owners. AgeShield is an independent company and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them.
Quotations from statutes and regulations describe what those texts say on the date above. They are not legal advice, and AgeShield does not advise on what any rule requires of your venue. Ask your own counsel.
Prices exclude sales tax.
Cover the door, the bar and the floor
The trial runs 14 days with every Pro feature on and 3 phones scanning at once.
Start your 14-day free trial


