AgeShield ID Scanner vs Vēmos ID Scan
| AgeShield | Vēmos | |
|---|---|---|
| Fake ID check | Included:Core and Pro | Partly:Premium only |
| Lowest price with it | $41.58/mo | $199/mo |
| Fake ID check offline | Included:Yes, on the phone | Not offered:Needs signal for fake ID |
| Checks DMV records | Not offered:No | Included:Premium |
| Payments and POS | Not offered:No | Included:Yes |
Prices: AgeShield Core billed annually, three devices included. Vēmos lists Premium per venue, per month. Every row is sourced in the full table below.
Compare the cost for your venue
For 3 devices, AgeShield Core costs $1,889 less a year than Vēmos Premium.
AgeShield Core
$41.58/month
$499.00 a year · 3 devices included
Vēmos Premium
$199.00/month
$2,388 a year · includes fake ID detection · monthly billing only
Feature by feature
Each Vēmos entry comes from Vēmos's own website, help center or App Store listing. Where Vēmos doesn't say, the table says so. The last group is what AgeShield does not do, because that is often what settles the decision.
Tap a row for the detail and where it comes from.
- Included:
- Partly:
- Not offered:
- Not stated:
Fake ID detection
AgeShield ID Scanner
Checks the barcode on US and Canadian licenses and IDs for signs of forgery, in every scan mode. Included on both plans.
Vēmos ID Scan
Premium only. Vēmos says Essentials does not include fake ID detection.Premium, $199/month
AgeShield ID Scanner
The check runs on the phone itself, so it keeps working when the signal drops.
Vēmos ID Scan
Checks scans against DMV records in real time. Vēmos says a timeout usually means the Wi-Fi or cellular connection dropped.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Secure mode also checks that the front of the card matches the barcode on the back.
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
IDs it reads
AgeShield ID Scanner
IDs from all 50 states, plus Canadian and Mexican IDs
Vēmos ID Scan
IDs from all 50 states, plus Canadian and Mexican IDs
AgeShield ID Scanner
Passports and passport cards
Vēmos ID Scan
Passports from 230 countries and territories
AgeShield ID Scanner
Some licenses from outside North America
Vēmos ID Scan
Canadian and Mexican IDs. Other countries not stated.
AgeShield ID Scanner
US green cards
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
Not accepted
Vēmos ID Scan
Canadian and Mexican IDs. Other countries not stated.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Staff can type the details in when a card won't scan. Age and expiry checks still run.
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
At the door
AgeShield ID Scanner
Alerts on the scan result for failed checks, underage, expired, banned and re-entry, plus an at-capacity warning.
Vēmos ID Scan
Color-coded alerts on the scan result.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Warns when the same ID comes back within a window you set, from 1 minute to 24 hours.
Vēmos ID Scan
Flags pass-backs on the scan result.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Live headcount that counts every admit, with an at-capacity warning. Included on both plans.
Vēmos ID Scan
Tracks capacity.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Staff take a photo of the guest as part of the scan.Pro
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
Saves the portrait printed on the ID automatically.Pro
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
Saves an image of the whole card.Pro
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
One tap to admit or deny, and each decision is recorded.
Vēmos ID Scan
Admit or deny, with deny reason shortcuts.
Guests and lists
AgeShield ID Scanner
Recognizes returning guests at the door and shows their visit count and history.
Vēmos ID Scan
Timestamped admission history per guest. The app holds the current day only.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Up to 10 notes per guest, shown to staff on the scan result.
Vēmos ID Scan
Internal notes shown on the scan result.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Merge duplicate guests from suggestions, and undo it with Unmerge.
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
Banned, VIP and Regulars lists on every plan.
Vēmos ID Scan
Ban list with custom ban lengths, and VIP recognition.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Custom lists, including lists that block entry when scanned.Pro
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
Tags on visits, for example an incident or a promotion.Pro
Vēmos ID Scan
Guest tags. Tags on individual visits not stated.
Records and privacy
AgeShield ID Scanner
Turn on staff sign-in and each scan records who made it, by personal PIN. Included on both plans.
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
Records who opened a guest's details or photos and when. Export the log as CSV, Excel or PDF.
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
You set how many days guest details are kept, up to 2 years on Core or 5 years on Pro.
Vēmos ID Scan
Customizable retention. The lengths on offer are not stated.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Pick which ID fields are stored and how age is recorded. State-aware defaults you can change.
Vēmos ID Scan
Retention settings described as a way to meet state rules.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Guests see what is collected and tap I Agree before the scan. Pre-set on in five states, and you can change it.
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
What AgeShield does not do
AgeShield ID Scanner
The forgery check reads the card itself. AgeShield does not query DMV records.
Vēmos ID Scan
Checks scan data against DMV records.Premium, $199/month
AgeShield ID Scanner
Phone camera only. No ultraviolet or infrared reader.
Vēmos ID Scan
An infrared scanning sled is sold. Vēmos does not describe it as an authenticity check.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Not accepted yet. Support for mobile IDs is coming soon.
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
AgeShield ID Scanner
Not accepted, by choice. Federal law restricts scanning and copying US military IDs. Learn why
Vēmos ID Scan
Military IDs
AgeShield ID Scanner
No POS or payment connections
Vēmos ID Scan
Connectors into POS systems and the Vēmos Pay ecosystem.
AgeShield ID Scanner
No ticketing, table or guest marketing tools
Vēmos ID Scan
Ticketing, events, cover charge and guest marketing are sold as separate Vēmos products.
AgeShield ID Scanner
No API or webhooks
Vēmos ID Scan
Not stated
Reports and setup
AgeShield ID Scanner
Scans, decisions, busiest hours, age, gender, top states and ZIP codes, on the phone at the door as well as in the hub.
Vēmos ID Scan
Demographics, age ranges, postal codes, new and returning guests.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Nothing to buy. Runs on iPhone and on Android phones and tablets.
Vēmos ID Scan
Phone cameras, or an optional infrared scanning sled.
AgeShield ID Scanner
Sign in each phone by scanning a QR code from the hub.
Vēmos ID Scan
Vēmos says you can start scanning within minutes.
| Feature | AgeShield ID ScannerCore or Pro, from $41.58/month billed annually | Vēmos ID ScanEssentials $79/month or Premium $199/month |
|---|---|---|
| Fake ID detection | ||
| Fake ID check | Included: Checks the barcode on US and Canadian licenses and IDs for signs of forgery, in every scan mode. Included on both plans. | Partly: Premium only. Vēmos says Essentials does not include fake ID detection.Premium, $199/month |
| Works without internet | Included: The check runs on the phone itself, so it keeps working when the signal drops. | Not offered: Checks scans against DMV records in real time. Vēmos says a timeout usually means the Wi-Fi or cellular connection dropped. |
| Front and back cross-check | Included: Secure mode also checks that the front of the card matches the barcode on the back. | Not stated: Not stated |
| IDs it reads | ||
| US driver's licenses and state IDs | Included: IDs from all 50 states, plus Canadian and Mexican IDs | Included: IDs from all 50 states, plus Canadian and Mexican IDs |
| Passports | Included: Passports and passport cards | Included: Passports from 230 countries and territories |
| Driver's licenses from other countries | Partly: Some licenses from outside North America | Partly: Canadian and Mexican IDs. Other countries not stated. |
| US green cards | Included: US green cards | Not stated: Not stated |
| National ID cards from other countries | Not offered: Not accepted | Partly: Canadian and Mexican IDs. Other countries not stated. |
| Manual entry | Included: Staff can type the details in when a card won't scan. Age and expiry checks still run. | Not stated: Not stated |
| At the door | ||
| Alerts | Included: Alerts on the scan result for failed checks, underage, expired, banned and re-entry, plus an at-capacity warning. | Included: Color-coded alerts on the scan result. |
| Re-entry and passback detection | Included: Warns when the same ID comes back within a window you set, from 1 minute to 24 hours. | Included: Flags pass-backs on the scan result. |
| Capacity tracking | Included: Live headcount that counts every admit, with an at-capacity warning. Included on both plans. | Included: Tracks capacity. |
| Live guest photo | Included: Staff take a photo of the guest as part of the scan.Pro | Not stated: Not stated |
| ID portrait capture | Included: Saves the portrait printed on the ID automatically.Pro | Not stated: Not stated |
| Full ID image capture | Included: Saves an image of the whole card.Pro | Not stated: Not stated |
| Admit or deny | Included: One tap to admit or deny, and each decision is recorded. | Included: Admit or deny, with deny reason shortcuts. |
| Guests and lists | ||
| Guest profiles and visit history | Included: Recognizes returning guests at the door and shows their visit count and history. | Included: Timestamped admission history per guest. The app holds the current day only. |
| Guest notes | Included: Up to 10 notes per guest, shown to staff on the scan result. | Included: Internal notes shown on the scan result. |
| Merge duplicate guests | Included: Merge duplicate guests from suggestions, and undo it with Unmerge. | Not stated: Not stated |
| Banned and VIP lists | Included: Banned, VIP and Regulars lists on every plan. | Included: Ban list with custom ban lengths, and VIP recognition. |
| Custom groups | Included: Custom lists, including lists that block entry when scanned.Pro | Not stated: Not stated |
| Visit tags | Included: Tags on visits, for example an incident or a promotion.Pro | Partly: Guest tags. Tags on individual visits not stated. |
| Records and privacy | ||
| Staff-level records | Included: Turn on staff sign-in and each scan records who made it, by personal PIN. Included on both plans. | Not stated: Not stated |
| Log of who viewed guest data | Included: Records who opened a guest's details or photos and when. Export the log as CSV, Excel or PDF. | Not stated: Not stated |
| Data retention setting | Included: You set how many days guest details are kept, up to 2 years on Core or 5 years on Pro. | Included: Customizable retention. The lengths on offer are not stated. |
| Privacy controls for state laws | Included: Pick which ID fields are stored and how age is recorded. State-aware defaults you can change. | Partly: Retention settings described as a way to meet state rules. |
| Guest consent screen | Included: Guests see what is collected and tap I Agree before the scan. Pre-set on in five states, and you can change it. | Not stated: Not stated |
| What AgeShield does not do | ||
| Check against DMV records | Not offered: The forgery check reads the card itself. AgeShield does not query DMV records. | Included: Checks scan data against DMV records.Premium, $199/month |
| Ultraviolet and infrared checks | Not offered: Phone camera only. No ultraviolet or infrared reader. | Partly: An infrared scanning sled is sold. Vēmos does not describe it as an authenticity check. |
| Mobile IDs in a phone wallet | Partly: Not accepted yet. Support for mobile IDs is coming soon. | Not stated: Not stated |
| US military IDs | Not offered: Not accepted, by choice. Federal law restricts scanning and copying US military IDs. Learn why | Included: Military IDs |
| POS and payments | Not offered: No POS or payment connections | Included: Connectors into POS systems and the Vēmos Pay ecosystem. |
| Ticketing, tables and guest marketing | Not offered: No ticketing, table or guest marketing tools | Included: Ticketing, events, cover charge and guest marketing are sold as separate Vēmos products. |
| API or webhooks | Not offered: No API or webhooks | Not stated: Not stated |
| Reports and setup | ||
| Analytics | Included: Scans, decisions, busiest hours, age, gender, top states and ZIP codes, on the phone at the door as well as in the hub. | Included: Demographics, age ranges, postal codes, new and returning guests. |
| Hardware | Included: Nothing to buy. Runs on iPhone and on Android phones and tablets. | Included: Phone cameras, or an optional infrared scanning sled. |
| Setting up a phone | Included: Sign in each phone by scanning a QR code from the hub. | Included: Vēmos says you can start scanning within minutes. |
Information accurate as of September 15, 2026. Vēmos is a trademark of its owner. AgeShield is an independent company and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by Vēmos.
Where AgeShield stops
AgeShield does one job: check IDs at the door and keep the record. It does not run your tickets, your tables, your cover charge or your payments, it has no API to wire into other systems, and it does not query DMV records. Vēmos sells that wider stack, with ID scanning as one part of it.
One gap is deliberate. We do not accept US military IDs, because federal law restricts scanning and copying them and the published exceptions do not cover a venue door. Why we will not scan a military ID
If you want one company running the whole night, Vēmos is the one to look at. If you want the door covered on the phones and tablets your staff already carry, with a fake ID check on every plan, the narrower scope is the point. There is less to set up and less to pay for.
Where they differ
Fake ID detection is not an upgrade
Vēmos says its Essentials plan at $79/month does not include fake ID detection. You get it on Premium at $199/month. AgeShield checks the barcode on US and Canadian licenses and IDs for signs of forgery in every scan mode, on Core and on Pro. Secure mode also checks that the front of the card matches the barcode on the back. A flag tells staff what the check found, and staff still make the call. How the checks work
Busy doors lose signal
Vēmos Premium sends scan data to check it against DMV records in real time, and its help center says a timeout usually means the Wi-Fi or cellular connection dropped. Checking against DMV records looks at a source the card itself cannot supply, so it can catch a fake a barcode check does not. It needs a working connection to do it. AgeShield's forgery check runs inside the app on the phone, so when the signal goes, staff keep scanning, the check keeps running and visits sync once the phone is back online. Which matters more depends on how reliable the connection is at your door.
What you can prove later
AgeShield can require staff to sign in with a personal PIN, so each scan records who made it. The hub logs who opened a guest's details or photos, and you can export that log. On Pro you can also save a photo of the guest and the ID with each visit. You decide how long guest details are kept, up to 2 years on Core or 5 years on Pro. Vēmos offers customizable retention and does not publish the lengths.
Ban lists
Both keep a ban list. Vēmos also runs a Community Ban Network that shares bans with other participating Vēmos venues in the same city. Several states restrict sharing guest data with other businesses, so that is worth putting to your own counsel before you count on it. AgeShield lists stay inside your own business: Banned, VIP and Regulars on Core, plus custom groups on Pro. An owner with several venues can share one Ban List across all of them.
Which one fits your venue
Vēmos may suit you if
- You want bans shared with other Vēmos venues in your city through its Community Ban Network. Sharing guest data with other businesses is restricted in several states, so check with your own counsel before you rely on it.
- You want a check against DMV records. It looks at a different source than a barcode check on the phone, so it can catch a fake that the barcode alone does not.
- You already use Vēmos for payments, ticketing or guest marketing and want ID scanning in the same place.
- You want to scan US military IDs. Vēmos lists them. AgeShield does not accept them, because federal law restricts scanning and copying US military IDs and the published exceptions do not cover a venue door.
- You want a trial without entering a card.
AgeShield fits if
- You want fake ID detection without paying for a top plan. It is included on Core from $41.58/month billed annually.
- Your door loses signal on busy nights and the check has to keep working.
- You want records that show which staff member scanned each guest and who later opened their details.
- You want to control what guest data is kept and for how long, including photos on Pro.
Questions about Vēmos and AgeShield
Does Vēmos Essentials include fake ID detection?
No. Vēmos says the Essentials plan at $79/month does not include fake ID detection. It comes with Premium at $199/month, which checks scan data against DMV records. AgeShield includes its barcode forgery check on both plans. Checked September 15, 2026.
Does AgeShield's fake ID check work offline?
Yes. The check runs on the phone, so staff keep scanning when Wi-Fi or cellular drops, and visits sync when the phone reconnects. If the ban list has not synced for 30 minutes, the app warns that it may be out of date. The two approaches trade off against each other: a check against DMV records looks at a source the card cannot supply and can catch a fake the barcode does not, while an on-device check keeps working with no connection at all.
How much does Vēmos cost?
Vēmos lists two ID Scan plans, each priced per venue: Essentials at $79/month and Premium at $199/month. Fake ID detection is on Premium only. Its ID Scan page shows a 7-day free trial with no credit card required. Checked September 15, 2026.
How much does AgeShield cost?
Core is $499/year ($41.58/month) or $49/month, and Pro is $699/year or $69/month. Both include the fake ID check and three devices scanning at once, and you can add device slots. The trial runs 14 days with Pro features.
Do I need a scanner for AgeShield?
No. AgeShield runs on iPhone (iOS 15.5 or later) and on Android phones and tablets (Android 8.0 or later), using the camera.
Sources
Information accurate as of September 15, 2026. Features and prices change, so check the vendor's site before you decide. Prices exclude sales tax.
Vēmos is a trademark of its owner. AgeShield is an independent company and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by Vēmos.
Try AgeShield at your own door
The trial runs 14 days with Pro features on three devices. You add a card at signup and nothing is charged today.
Start your 14-day free trial


